Explore Melbourne Polytechnic

Corporate Governance


Melbourne Polytechnic, and its Board, operate under the accountability, powers, dutieas and functions as set out in the Education and Training Reform Act 2006  and The Constitution of Melbourne Polytechnic Order 2016.

The Minister

Melbourne Polytechnic is accountable to the Minister for Training and Skills.

The Victorian Government Minister for Training and Skills is the Hon. Gayle Tierney MP.

Further information about can be obtained from the Victoria Government Education and Training website:  www.education.vic.gov.au

The Board

In accordance with The Constitution of Melbourne Polytechnic Order 2016 the Board of Melbourne Polytechnic is established to oversee and govern the Institute.

Pursuant to the Constitution, the Board must:

  • take all reasonable steps for the advancement of the objectives of the Institute and the Board under the Act and the Constitution;
  • operate in accordance with the economic and social objectives and public sector management policy established from time to time by the Government of Victoria;
  • meet at intervals prescribed in the Constitution;
  • provide all assistance and information as the Minister, the Secretary or the Deputy Secretary may reasonably require from the Board; and
  • ensure the safe custody and proper use of the common seal of the Institute.

These duties are in addition to, and do not take away from, the duties imposed on the Board by the Education and Training Reform Act 2006, other provisions of The Constitution of Melbourne Polytechnic Order 2016, and any other duties imposed by any other Act or law.

Board Members

Jim Pasinis (Chairman)

Ministerial appointed Director

Fiona McNabb

Ministerial appointed Director

Helen Clarke

Ministerial appointed Director

Tali Bernard

Ministerial appointed Director

Daniel Stubbs

Ministerial appointed Director

Fiona Smith

Ministerial appointed Director

Joe Dicks

Board Appointed Director

Lee Astheimer

Board Appointed Director

Ian Munro

Board Appointed Director

Richard Tait

Board Appointed Director

Frances Coppolillo

Chief Executive

Mel Riel

Staff Elected Director

Board member biographies.

Further information can be found on the public board appointments Victoria website:  http://www.publicboards.vic.gov.au/

Senior Executive

Frances Coppolillo

Chief Executive

Claire Britchford

Executive Director, Finance and Infrastructure

Greg Madigan

Executive Director, Industry and School Engagement

Karina Davis

Executive Director, Programs and Educational Leadership

Joanna Brown

Executive Director, People, Culture and Organisational Development

Cathy Frazer

Executive Director, Student Experience

Nicole Amsing

Strategic Advisor, Planning, Strategy and Performance

Marc Blanks

Executive Director, Tech Schools

Howard Kelly

Strategic Advisor, Office of the Chief Executive – Schools, Government and Community Engagement

Gabriel S Torres

Executive Director, Strategic Asset Development

Senior Executive biographies.


The Education and Training Reform Act 2006 reforms the law relating to education and training in Victoria by providing for a high standard of education and training for all Victorians.

TAFE institute Boards are considered to be public entitles under Part 5 of the Public Administration Act 2004 and are subject to the requirements of a public entity set out in Part 5 of the Act. 

The Constitution of Melbourne Polytechnic Order 2016 includes provisions regarding governance arrangements and the objectives, functions and powers of the institute.  This came into operation on 1 July 2016.  The Constitution is made under the powers conferred by section 3.1.11 of the Education and Training Reform Act 2006 and all other enabling powers.

The Education and Training Reform Act 2006 and Public Administration Act 2004can be obtained from the Victorian Legislation and Parliamentary Documents Library.  http://www.legislation.vic.gov.au/

Melbourne Polytechnic Gifts, Benefits and Hospitality Policy and Register

Melbourne Polytechnic’s Gifts, Benefits and Hospitality Policy and Register are available here.

Maintained by Web Developer and Administrator, M&CC.
Last Modified: 16th November 2018