Personalised for LOCAL students.
Local student means; you are an Australian citizen or permanent resident, a New Zealand citizen or a permanent humanitarian visa holder.
Personalised for INTERNATIONAL students.
International student means; you are not an Australian citizen or permanent resident, a New Zealand citizen or a permanent humanitarian visa holder.

Wax Working for Jewellery

Short Course

Overview

Participants will work with a range of different waxes; soft wax, pink dental wax sheets, blue wire wax, brown pliable wax as well as liquid wax for dipping and creating hollow forms. You will also use a range of tools including burrs, wax carving files and wax working tools.

Suitable For

  • Participants interested in increasing their jewellery knowledge
  • Participants who have undertaken the Introductory Jewellery and Intermediate Jewellery Short Courses

Topics Covered

  • Applications for different types of wax; soft, hard, wire and melted dipping wax
  • Wax carving, forming, shaping and joining
  • Use of appropriate tools
  • Carving a ring in wax
  • Setting stones in wax
  • Lost wax casting process
  • Commercial casting locations
  • OH&S considerations
    • Course Outcomes

      Participants will:

      • Gain skills and knowledge of the wax working process, enabling them to continue using the basic hand tools from home
      • Make a number of wax experiments, prototypes and have a sterling silver item of jewellery to take home
      • connect with commercial casting companies to enable them to continue at home and throughout the course

      Please Note: Due to Occupational Health and Safety reasons, participants will not be using the casting machine themselves. The machine will be operated by a Melbourne Polytechnic jewellery staff member and may not be operated during class time.

      Melbourne Polytechnic jewellery staff will cast one piece in Sterling Silver for each participant and then students will be encouraged to engage with industry for the casting of any remaining waxes.

      You will have the first 3 classes to make your piece that is going to be cast in sterling silver; missing these classes will mean that you do not receive your item in silver. Your piece needs to be completed before the end of week 3. If you miss the first session, you will only have classes 2 and 3 to finish your piece, which you will receive back in Sterling Silver. If you miss all 3 sessions, then you do not get a piece in silver, or any metal. You will only have wax, and if you want to cast it in metal, then you will have to facilitate this in your own time and expense.

      Transfers and Refunds

      A refund or transfer is only possible if you apply at least 5 business days prior to the course commencing. A standard handling charge of 10% of the advertised course fee will be deducted from each refund. Requests for refunds or transfers made within five business days of the course start date will not be eligible.


      Please Note:

      When enrolling into this course under “Available Sessions” below, you must use a personal email address as your primary email address. You will not be able to receive your qualification with a work email address. My eQuals (the qualification platform) will not accept a work email.

      Requirements

      Basic jewellery knowledge and skills, such as those gained through our Introduction to Jewellery short course. You are required to have had some experience using jewelers tools and working with metal in the following ways to get the most out of this Wax Working short course - Saw Piercing, Drilling, Filing and Sanding/Finishing metal and Soldering.

      Materials

      Participants will need to bring:
    • a sturdy apron
    • safety goggles
    • a pen and notebook

    • Course cost includes all tools, materials and one sterling silver cast piece (Maximum 10gms)

      Available sessions

      Fairfield

      Wednesday, May 1, 2024 - Wednesday, June 19, 2024 no more places

      8 Sessions Show sessions

      Wednesday 1st May -

      • (18:00 - 21:00)

      Wednesday 8th May -

      • (18:00 - 21:00)

      Wednesday 15th May -

      • (18:00 - 21:00)

      Wednesday 22nd May -

      • (18:00 - 21:00)

      Wednesday 29th May -

      • (18:00 - 21:00)

      Wednesday 5th Jun -

      • (18:00 - 21:00)

      Wednesday 12th Jun -

      • (18:00 - 21:00)

      Wednesday 19th Jun -

      • (18:00 - 21:00)
      Hide sessions

      Wednesday, July 24, 2024 - Wednesday, September 11, 2024 Places available

      8 Sessions Show sessions

      Wednesday 24th Jul -

      • (18:00 - 21:00)

      Wednesday 31st Jul -

      • (18:00 - 21:00)

      Wednesday 7th Aug -

      • (18:00 - 21:00)

      Wednesday 14th Aug -

      • (18:00 - 21:00)

      Wednesday 21st Aug -

      • (18:00 - 21:00)

      Wednesday 28th Aug -

      • (18:00 - 21:00)

      Wednesday 4th Sep -

      • (18:00 - 21:00)

      Wednesday 11th Sep -

      • (18:00 - 21:00)
      Hide sessions

      Wednesday, October 16, 2024 - Wednesday, December 4, 2024 Places available

      8 Sessions Show sessions

      Wednesday 16th Oct -

      • (18:00 - 21:00)

      Wednesday 23rd Oct -

      • (18:00 - 21:00)

      Wednesday 30th Oct -

      • (18:00 - 21:00)

      Wednesday 6th Nov -

      • (18:00 - 21:00)

      Wednesday 13th Nov -

      • (18:00 - 21:00)

      Wednesday 20th Nov -

      • (18:00 - 21:00)

      Wednesday 27th Nov -

      • (18:00 - 21:00)

      Wednesday 4th Dec -

      • (18:00 - 21:00)
      Hide sessions