Personalised for LOCAL students.
Local student means; you are an Australian citizen or permanent resident, a New Zealand citizen or a permanent humanitarian visa holder.
Personalised for INTERNATIONAL students.
International student means; you are not an Australian citizen or permanent resident, a New Zealand citizen or a permanent humanitarian visa holder.

Introductory Jewellery

Short Course

Overview

Our Introductory Jewellery short course is designed for beginners. You will learn basic techniques, undergo a series of projects that result in finished jewellery pieces to be worn and admired.

Our Melbourne Polytechnic staff are professional jewellers and are highly regarded in the industry.

Suitable for:

  • Participants wanting to gain skills in Jewellery making
  • Participants who want to expand on pre-existing knowledge
  • Participants wanting to pathway into the Diploma or Advanced Diploma of Jewellery and Object Design

Topics Covered:

  • Saw piercing
  • Drilling
  • Filing and finishing metal
  • Simple surface texturing
  • Silver soldering
  • Ring making – bending and forming
  • Metal doming

Projects include:

  • Saw pierced brooch with riveted pin
  • Sterling silver Russian wedding ring
  • Sterling silver wire pendant
  • Textured dome earrings

Course Outcomes:

Participants will have gained the skills and knowledge to create their own jewellery and apply the techniques to other jewellery pieces.

A Certificate of Completion will be issued at the conclusion of the course.

Participants can create a folio of their work to present for entry into the Diploma or Advanced Diploma of Jewellery and Object Design.

All classes are held in the Melbourne Polytechnic Jewellery Centre with access to full workshop facilities and wheel chair accessibility.

Requirements

No prior knowledge or experience required.

Materials

All materials (including sterling silver) and tools will be provided.


Participants are to bring:

  • A pencil
  • Fine tip permanent marker
  • Notebook
  • Non-synthetic apron
  • Safety goggles

Available sessions

Fairfield

Tuesday, October 11, 2022 - Tuesday, December 6, 2022

8 Sessions Show sessions

Tuesday 11th Oct -

  • (18:00 - 21:00) Full

Tuesday 18th Oct -

  • (18:00 - 21:00) Full

Tuesday 25th Oct -

  • (18:00 - 21:00) Full

Tuesday 1st Nov -

  • (18:00 - 21:00) Full

Tuesday 8th Nov -

  • (18:00 - 21:00) Full

Tuesday 15th Nov -

  • (18:00 - 21:00) Full

Tuesday 22nd Nov -

  • (18:00 - 21:00) Full

Tuesday 29th Nov -

  • (18:00 - 21:00) Full
Hide sessions

Thursday, October 13, 2022 - Thursday, December 1, 2022

8 Sessions Show sessions

Thursday 13th Oct -

  • (10:30 - 13:30) Full

Thursday 20th Oct -

  • (10:30 - 13:30) Full

Thursday 27th Oct -

  • (10:30 - 13:30) Full

Thursday 3rd Nov -

  • (10:30 - 13:30) Full

Thursday 10th Nov -

  • (10:30 - 13:30) Full

Thursday 17th Nov -

  • (10:30 - 13:30) Full

Thursday 24th Nov -

  • (10:30 - 13:30) Full

Thursday 1st Dec -

  • (10:30 - 13:30) Full
Hide sessions

Wednesday, October 19, 2022 - Wednesday, December 7, 2022

8 Sessions Show sessions

Wednesday 19th Oct -

  • (18:00 - 21:00) Full

Wednesday 26th Oct -

  • (18:00 - 21:00) Full

Wednesday 2nd Nov -

  • (18:00 - 21:00) Full

Wednesday 9th Nov -

  • (18:00 - 21:00) Full

Wednesday 16th Nov -

  • (18:00 - 21:00) Full

Wednesday 23rd Nov -

  • (18:00 - 21:00) Full

Wednesday 30th Nov -

  • (18:00 - 21:00) Full

Wednesday 7th Dec -

  • (18:00 - 21:00) Full
Hide sessions

Thursday, October 20, 2022 - Thursday, December 8, 2022

8 Sessions Show sessions

Thursday 20th Oct -

  • (14:30 - 17:30) Full

Thursday 27th Oct -

  • (14:30 - 17:30) Full

Thursday 3rd Nov -

  • (14:30 - 17:30) Full

Thursday 10th Nov -

  • (14:30 - 17:30) Full

Thursday 17th Nov -

  • (14:30 - 17:30) Full

Thursday 24th Nov -

  • (14:30 - 17:30) Full

Thursday 1st Dec -

  • (14:30 - 17:30) Full

Thursday 8th Dec -

  • (14:30 - 17:30) Full
Hide sessions