Higher Education Calendar 2019

The Higher Education calendar gives details of term dates as well as important dates for Melbourne Polytechnic students.

Higher Education Dates 2019

Semester 1 – 25 February – 31 May
Mid Semester Break – 19 April – 26 April
Semester 2 – 29 July – 4 November
Mid Semester Break – 7 October – 11 October

Victoria School Dates 2019

Term 1 – 29 January – 5 April
Term 2 – 23 April – 28 June
Term 3 – 15 July – 20 September
Term 4 – 7 October – 20 December

Please note that in addition to the dates stipulated in this calender, students also undertake various activities throughout the year at department level.

Week Starting Study Week Events
31-Dec-18   Tue 1 Jan – Public Holiday: New Year’s Day
7-Jan-19    
14-Jan   Tue 15 Jan – International Fees Due
21-Jan    
28-Jan   Mon 28 Jan – Public Holiday: Australia Day
Thu 31 Jan – International Student Orientation
Fri 1 Feb – SLAM – International Student Welcome
4 -Feb    
11-Feb  
18-Feb  

Mon 18 Feb – Fri 22 Feb – HE Student Orientation

25-Feb 1 Mon 25 Feb – HE Semester 1 Commences
Mon 25 Feb – International HE Students Commence
4-Mar 2 Tue 5 Mar to 13 Mar – SLAM – O Week
Tue 8 Mar – SLAM – Student Welcome
11-Mar 3 Mon 11 Mar – Public Holiday: Labour Day
18-Mar 4  
25-Mar 5 Tue 26 Mar – SLAM Harmony Day
Fri 29 Mar – HE Census Date
1-Apr 6  
8-Apr 7  
15-Apr 8 Mon 15 Apr – International Student Fees Due
Fri 19 Apr – Public Holiday: Good Friday
22-Apr   Fri 19 Apr to Fri 26 Apr – HE Mid-Semester Break
Mon 22 Apr – Public Holiday: Easter Monday
Thu 25 Apr – ANZAC Day Public Holiday
29-Apr 9 Wed 1 May – Graduation Night 1 (Tentative)
Thu 2 May – Graduation Night 2 (Tentative)
Fri 3 May – SLAM Hunt
6-May 10  
13-May 11  
20-May 12  
27-May 13 Mon 27 May to Fri 31 May – HE Revision Week
Fri 31 May – HE Semester 1 Concludes
3-Jun   Mon 3 June – HE Study Vacation Starts
Tue 4 June – Ramadan Concludes
Wed 5 June – SLAM – Moodji Day
10-Jun   Mon 10 June – Public Holiday: Queens Birthday
Sat 15 June – International Student Fees Due
17-Jun    
24-Jun    
1-Jul   Mon 2 Jul to Fri 5 Jul – HE Chief Examiners Meetings
8-Jul   Mon 8 July – HE Semester 1 Results Released
Thu 11 July – International Student Orientation
15-Jul   Tue 16 July – Orientation Week
22-Jul   Mon 22 July to Fri 26 Jul – HE Acedemic Progress Panels
Mon 22 July to Fri 26 Jul – HE Supplementary Exams
Mon 22 July to Thu 1 Aug – SLAM: RE-O Week
29-Jul 1 Mon 29 Jul – HE Semester 2 Commences
Mon 22 July to Thu 1 Aug – SLAM: RE-O Week
5-Aug 2  
12-Aug 3 Sun 18 Aug – Open Day (Tentative)
19-Aug 4  
26-Aug 5 Fri 30 Aug – Census Date
2-Sep 6  
9-Sep 7  
16-Sep 8  
23-Sep 9 Fri 27 Sep – Public Holiday: Grand Final Parade
30-Sep 10  
7-Oct Mon 7 Oct to Fri 11 Oct – Mid-Semester Break
14-Oct 11 Thu 17 Oct – SLAM: Sports Day
21-Oct 12  
28-Oct 13 Mon 28 Oct to Fri 1 Nov – Revision Week
4-Nov   Tue 5 Nov – Melbourne Cup Day Public Holiday
Mon 4 Nov to Fri 8 Nov – Study Vacation
Fri 8 Nov – Semester 2 Classes Conclude
11-Nov   Mon 11 Nov to Fri 22 Nov – End of Year Examination Period
18-Nov  
25-Nov   Mon 25 Nov to Fri 29 Nov – Results Review Meetings
2-Dec   Mon 2 Dec to Fri 6 Dec – Chief Examiners Meetings
9-Dec   Mon 9 Dev – Semester 2 Results Released
16-Dec   Mon 16 Dec to Thu 19 Dec – Academic Progress Panels
Mon 16 Dec to Thu 19 Dec – Supplementary Exams
Fri 20 Dec – Melbourne Polytechnic Closes
23-Dec   Wed 25 Dec- Public Holiday: Christmas Day
Thu 26 Dec – Public Holiday: Boxing Day
30-Dec 2018  

Tues 1 Jan 2019 – New Year's Day Public Holiday

Wed 2 Jan 2019 – Melbourne Polytechnic re-opens