Personalised for LOCAL students.
Local student means; you are an Australian citizen or permanent resident, a New Zealand citizen or a permanent humanitarian visa holder.
Personalised for INTERNATIONAL students.
International student means; you are not an Australian citizen or permanent resident, a New Zealand citizen or a permanent humanitarian visa holder.

Introduction to Welding - MIG, Arc and Oxyacetylene

Short Course

Overview

Suitable For

  • Handy person
  • Hobbyist
  • Participants seeking an entry level/production welding job
  • Participants seeking work as a tack welder
  • Sculptors/artists
  • Participants who want a taste of welding before enrolling into Certificate courses
  • Landscape designers

Topics Covered

  • MMAW: process, identification, technology
  • MIG and Oxy welding uses, advantages and limitations
  • Safe operations
  • OH&S
  • Demonstration/Simulation of practical skills and completion of theory and practical exercises

Course Outcomes

Upon completion of this course participants will be able to:

  • Identify the basic technology relating to welding
  • Recognise and carry out safe practices
  • Deposit beads, butt and fillet welds using different techniques

A Certificate of Completion will be issued at the conclusion of the course.

Please note, the first session is compulsory. If you do not attend this first session, you will not be permitted to join the class. If you cannot attend the first session, you must notify short courses 5 business days before the first session date.

Transfers and Refunds

A refund or transfer is only possible if you apply at least 5 business days prior to the course commencing. A standard handling charge of 10% of the advertised course fee will be deducted from each refund. Requests for refunds or transfers made within five business days of the course start date will not be eligible.


Please Note:

When enrolling into this course under “Available Sessions” below, you must use a personal email address as your primary email address. You will not be able to receive your qualification with a work email address. My eQuals (the qualification platform) will not accept a work email.

Requirements

Recommended:

Participants should have a reasonable level of English language skill to meet the learning and WH&S requirements of this course.

Please Note, you need to be 18 years of age or older to attend this course.

Materials

Participants must wear and bring the following material to every class:

  • Safety boots
  • Long pants
  • Long sleeve clothing
  • Welding helmet
  • Welding gloves
  • Oxy goggles

Available sessions

Heidelberg

Monday, July 22, 2024 - Monday, September 9, 2024 no more places

8 Sessions Show sessions

Monday 22nd Jul -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Monday 29th Jul -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Monday 5th Aug -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Monday 12th Aug -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Monday 19th Aug -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Monday 26th Aug -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Monday 2nd Sep -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Monday 9th Sep -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)
Hide sessions

Wednesday, July 24, 2024 - Wednesday, September 11, 2024 Places limited

8 Sessions Show sessions

Wednesday 24th Jul -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Wednesday 31st Jul -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Wednesday 7th Aug -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Wednesday 14th Aug -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Wednesday 21st Aug -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Wednesday 28th Aug -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Wednesday 4th Sep -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Wednesday 11th Sep -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)
Hide sessions

Friday, July 26, 2024 - Friday, September 13, 2024 no more places

8 Sessions Show sessions

Friday 26th Jul -

  • (08:30 - 12:30)

Friday 2nd Aug -

  • (08:30 - 12:30)

Friday 9th Aug -

  • (08:30 - 12:30)

Friday 16th Aug -

  • (08:30 - 12:30)

Friday 23rd Aug -

  • (08:30 - 12:30)

Friday 30th Aug -

  • (08:30 - 12:30)

Friday 6th Sep -

  • (08:30 - 12:30)

Friday 13th Sep -

  • (08:30 - 12:30)
Hide sessions

Monday, October 7, 2024 - Monday, November 25, 2024 Places available

8 Sessions Show sessions

Monday 7th Oct -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Monday 14th Oct -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Monday 21st Oct -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Monday 28th Oct -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Monday 4th Nov -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Monday 11th Nov -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Monday 18th Nov -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Monday 25th Nov -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)
Hide sessions

Wednesday, October 9, 2024 - Wednesday, November 27, 2024 Places available

8 Sessions Show sessions

Wednesday 9th Oct -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Wednesday 16th Oct -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Wednesday 23rd Oct -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Wednesday 30th Oct -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Wednesday 6th Nov -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Wednesday 13th Nov -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Wednesday 20th Nov -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Wednesday 27th Nov -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)
Hide sessions

Friday, October 11, 2024 - Friday, November 29, 2024 Places available

8 Sessions Show sessions

Friday 11th Oct -

  • (08:30 - 12:30)

Friday 18th Oct -

  • (08:30 - 12:30)

Friday 25th Oct -

  • (08:30 - 12:30)

Friday 1st Nov -

  • (08:30 - 12:30)

Friday 8th Nov -

  • (08:30 - 12:30)

Friday 15th Nov -

  • (08:30 - 12:30)

Friday 22nd Nov -

  • (08:30 - 12:30)

Friday 29th Nov -

  • (08:30 - 12:30)
Hide sessions

Wednesday, January 29, 2025 - Wednesday, March 19, 2025 Places available

8 Sessions Show sessions

Wednesday 29th Jan -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Wednesday 5th Feb -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Wednesday 12th Feb -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Wednesday 19th Feb -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Wednesday 26th Feb -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Wednesday 5th Mar -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Wednesday 12th Mar -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)

Wednesday 19th Mar -

  • (17:30 - 21:30)
Hide sessions