Personalised for LOCAL students.
Local student means; you are an Australian citizen or permanent resident, a New Zealand citizen or a permanent humanitarian visa holder.
Personalised for INTERNATIONAL students.
International student means; you are not an Australian citizen or permanent resident, a New Zealand citizen or a permanent humanitarian visa holder.

Furniture Making

Short Course

Overview

No matter if you’re a complete beginner or someone with a little bit of woodworking knowledge, this satisfying and rewarding course will give you the confidence and knowledge to start making your own furniture.

Suitable For:

  • Participants desiring to make their own furniture
  • Participants wanting skills and knowledge of furniture making
  • Participants who want to increase their furniture making knowledge


Topics Covered:

  • Develop hand skills
  • Identify a range of hand tools
  • Use correctly and maintain in good condition a basic range of hand tools
  • Construct a range of basic joints
  • Use correctly and maintain in good condition a range of portable power tools and equipment
  • Construct a simple piece of furniture incorporating a range of joints, fastening and finish ready for a clear lacquer

Course Outcomes:

At the end of the course, participants will develop the skills and knowledge to correctly use a range of hand tools, construct a range of basic furniture joints and construct a simple piece of furniture.

A Certificate of Completion will be issued at the conclusion of the course.

Requirements

No prior knowledge or experience needed

Materials

You need to wear work clothing, protective equipment (work boots, safety eye protection and ear plugs). Please bring a pen and notebook.

Available sessions

Heidelberg

Tuesday, January 31, 2023 - Tuesday, April 4, 2023 Free Spots

10 Sessions Show sessions

Tuesday 31st Jan -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 7th Feb -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 14th Feb -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 21st Feb -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 28th Feb -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 7th Mar -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 14th Mar -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 21st Mar -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 28th Mar -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 4th Apr -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)
Hide sessions

Tuesday, January 31, 2023 - Tuesday, April 4, 2023 Free Spots

10 Sessions Show sessions

Tuesday 31st Jan -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 7th Feb -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 14th Feb -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 21st Feb -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 28th Feb -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 7th Mar -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 14th Mar -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 21st Mar -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 28th Mar -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 4th Apr -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)
Hide sessions

Tuesday, May 2, 2023 - Tuesday, July 4, 2023 Free Spots

10 Sessions Show sessions

Tuesday 2nd May -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 9th May -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 16th May -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 23rd May -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 30th May -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 6th Jun -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 13th Jun -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 20th Jun -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 27th Jun -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 4th Jul -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)
Hide sessions

Tuesday, May 2, 2023 - Tuesday, July 4, 2023 Free Spots

10 Sessions Show sessions

Tuesday 2nd May -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 9th May -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 16th May -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 23rd May -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 30th May -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 6th Jun -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 13th Jun -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 20th Jun -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 27th Jun -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 4th Jul -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)
Hide sessions

Tuesday, July 11, 2023 - Tuesday, September 12, 2023 Free Spots

10 Sessions Show sessions

Tuesday 11th Jul -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 18th Jul -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 25th Jul -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 1st Aug -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 8th Aug -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 15th Aug -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 22nd Aug -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 29th Aug -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 5th Sep -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 12th Sep -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)
Hide sessions

Tuesday, July 11, 2023 - Tuesday, September 12, 2023 Free Spots

10 Sessions Show sessions

Tuesday 11th Jul -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 18th Jul -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 25th Jul -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 1st Aug -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 8th Aug -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 15th Aug -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 22nd Aug -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 29th Aug -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 5th Sep -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 12th Sep -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)
Hide sessions

Tuesday, October 3, 2023 - Tuesday, December 12, 2023 Free Spots

10 Sessions Show sessions

Tuesday 3rd Oct -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 10th Oct -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 17th Oct -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 24th Oct -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 31st Oct -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 7th Nov -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 14th Nov -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 21st Nov -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 28th Nov -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 5th Dec -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)
Hide sessions

Tuesday, October 3, 2023 - Tuesday, December 12, 2023 Free Spots

10 Sessions Show sessions

Tuesday 3rd Oct -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 10th Oct -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 17th Oct -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 24th Oct -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 31st Oct -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 7th Nov -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 14th Nov -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 21st Nov -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 28th Nov -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 5th Dec -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)
Hide sessions