Personalised for LOCAL students.
Local student means; you are an Australian citizen or permanent resident, a New Zealand citizen or a permanent humanitarian visa holder.
Personalised for INTERNATIONAL students.
International student means; you are not an Australian citizen or permanent resident, a New Zealand citizen or a permanent humanitarian visa holder.

Furniture Making

Short Course

Overview

No matter if you’re a complete beginner or someone with a little bit of woodworking knowledge, this satisfying and rewarding course will give you the confidence and knowledge to start making your own furniture.

Suitable For

  • Participants desiring to make their own furniture
  • Participants wanting skills and knowledge of furniture making
  • Participants who want to increase their furniture making knowledge

Topics Covered

  • Develop hand skills
  • Identify a range of hand tools
  • Use correctly and maintain in good condition a basic range of hand tools
  • Construct a range of basic joints
  • Use correctly and maintain in good condition a range of portable power tools and equipment
  • Construct a simple piece of furniture incorporating a range of joints, fastening and finish ready for a clear lacquer

Course Outcomes

At the end of the course, participants will develop the skills and knowledge to correctly use a range of hand tools, construct a range of basic furniture joints and construct a simple piece of furniture.

A Certificate of Completion will be issued at the conclusion of the course.

Transfers and Refunds

A refund or transfer is only possible if you apply at least 5 business days prior to the course commencing. A standard handling charge of 10% of the advertised course fee will be deducted from each refund. Requests for refunds or transfers made within five business days of the course start date will not be eligible.


Please Note:

When enrolling into this course under “Available Sessions” below, you must use a personal email address as your primary email address. You will not be able to receive your qualification with a work email address. My eQuals (the qualification platform) will not accept a work email.

Requirements

No prior knowledge or experience needed.

Please Note, you need to be 18 years of age or older to attend this course.

Materials

You need to wear work clothing, protective equipment (work boots, safety eye protection and ear plugs). Please bring a pen and notebook.

Students must:

  • wear work clothing
  • wear protective footwear
  • bring eye and hearing protection (ear muffs and safety glasses)

Students must bring their own:

  • HB graphite pencil
  • eraser
  • pencil sharpener

Available sessions

Heidelberg

Tuesday, July 16, 2024 - Tuesday, September 17, 2024 Places available

10 Sessions Show sessions

Tuesday 16th Jul -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 23rd Jul -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 30th Jul -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 6th Aug -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 13th Aug -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 20th Aug -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 27th Aug -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 3rd Sep -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 10th Sep -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 17th Sep -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)
Hide sessions

Tuesday, July 16, 2024 - Tuesday, September 17, 2024 Places available

10 Sessions Show sessions

Tuesday 16th Jul -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 23rd Jul -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 30th Jul -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 6th Aug -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 13th Aug -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 20th Aug -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 27th Aug -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 3rd Sep -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 10th Sep -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 17th Sep -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)
Hide sessions

Tuesday, October 8, 2024 - Tuesday, December 17, 2024 Places available

10 Sessions Show sessions

Tuesday 8th Oct -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 15th Oct -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 22nd Oct -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 29th Oct -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 12th Nov -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 19th Nov -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 26th Nov -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 3rd Dec -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 10th Dec -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 17th Dec -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)
Hide sessions

Tuesday, October 8, 2024 - Tuesday, December 17, 2024 Places available

10 Sessions Show sessions

Tuesday 8th Oct -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 15th Oct -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 22nd Oct -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 29th Oct -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 12th Nov -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 19th Nov -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 26th Nov -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 3rd Dec -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 10th Dec -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)

Tuesday 17th Dec -

  • (18:00 - 21:00)
Hide sessions