Personalised for LOCAL students.
Local student means; you are an Australian citizen or permanent resident, a New Zealand citizen or a permanent humanitarian visa holder.
Personalised for INTERNATIONAL students.
International student means; you are not an Australian citizen or permanent resident, a New Zealand citizen or a permanent humanitarian visa holder.

Chainsaw Operation and Safety

Short Course

Overview

Emphasis is placed on the individual’s responsibility to ensure safe working practice is maintained while operating a chainsaw. While this course is appropriate for professionals and occasional users alike, it also benefits anyone who may use a chainsaw around the home or farm.

Suitable For

  • Council operators
  • Participants requiring knowledge and skills to operate a chainsaw safely
  • Farm or home owners
  • Handypersons
  • Horticulture, Arboriculture and Conservation Land Management industries requiring skills upgrades
  • Emergency Services personnel

Topics Covered

Safe use of chainsaws:
  • Workplace Occupation Health and Safety
  • Personal Protective Equipment (PPE)
  • Chainsaw safety features
  • Chain brake operation
  • Chainsaw starting methods
Chainsaw operation and control
    Timber:
    • Undercutting
    • Top cutting
    • Plunge cutting
    • Vertical and horizontal cuts
Chainsaw maintenance:
  • Powerhead and Guide Bar maintenance
  • Saw chain and Drive sprocket maintenance
  • Carburettor tuning

Course Outcomes

Participants will gain the necessary skills and knowledge to Operate and Maintain a chainsaw safely

Assessment

Practical and written assessment will be completed to obtain a Statement of Attainment This course consists of the following unit of competency:

  • AHCMOM213 Operate and Maintain Chainsaws

Completion of this Unit of Competency will earn you credits towards some Nationally Recognised qualification courses.

Transfers and Refunds

A refund or transfer is only possible if you apply at least 5 business days prior to the course commencing. A standard handling charge of 10% of the advertised course fee will be deducted from each refund. Requests for refunds or transfers made within five business days of the course start date will not be eligible.


Please Note:

When enrolling into this course under “Available Sessions” below, you must use a personal email address as your primary email address. You will not be able to receive your qualification with a work email address. My eQuals (the qualification platform) will not accept a work email.

Requirements

Students will be emailed a Learner Guide which can be used in the class.

Materials

NOTE:

All participants to bring:

  • Snug fitting light weight High Visibility clothing
  • Long sleeve top
  • Wide brim hat
  • Steel toe-capped boots
  • Protective glasses
  • Sun protection cream
  • Insect repellent
  • Sufficient drinking water

Available sessions

Fairfield

Wednesday, May 8, 2024

1 Sessions Show sessions

Wednesday 8th May -

  • (08:00 - 16:30) Places available
Hide sessions

Monday, July 1, 2024

1 Sessions Show sessions

Monday 1st Jul -

  • (08:00 - 16:30) Places available
Hide sessions

Monday, July 8, 2024

1 Sessions Show sessions

Monday 8th Jul -

  • (08:00 - 16:30) Places available
Hide sessions

Wednesday, July 31, 2024

1 Sessions Show sessions

Wednesday 31st Jul -

  • (08:00 - 16:30) Places available
Hide sessions

Wednesday, August 14, 2024

1 Sessions Show sessions

Wednesday 14th Aug -

  • (08:00 - 16:30) Places available
Hide sessions

Wednesday, August 28, 2024

1 Sessions Show sessions

Wednesday 28th Aug -

  • (08:00 - 16:30) Places available
Hide sessions

Wednesday, September 18, 2024

1 Sessions Show sessions

Wednesday 18th Sep -

  • (08:00 - 16:30) Places available
Hide sessions

Wednesday, September 25, 2024

1 Sessions Show sessions

Wednesday 25th Sep -

  • (08:00 - 16:30) Places available
Hide sessions

Wednesday, October 9, 2024

1 Sessions Show sessions

Wednesday 9th Oct -

  • (08:00 - 16:30) Places available
Hide sessions

Wednesday, October 23, 2024

1 Sessions Show sessions

Wednesday 23rd Oct -

  • (08:00 - 16:30) Places available
Hide sessions

Wednesday, November 6, 2024

1 Sessions Show sessions

Wednesday 6th Nov -

  • (08:00 - 16:30) Places available
Hide sessions

Wednesday, November 20, 2024

1 Sessions Show sessions

Wednesday 20th Nov -

  • (08:00 - 16:30) Places available
Hide sessions

Wednesday, December 4, 2024

1 Sessions Show sessions

Wednesday 4th Dec -

  • (08:00 - 16:30) Places available
Hide sessions