Yarra Bend Press

Time to Write 2014


This anthology comprises thirty short fictions from Melbourne Polytechnic's third Time to Write short story contest

The Time To Write 2014 short story prize is a chance for Australian writers to showcase their talents. Now in its third year, the Time to Write anthology presents thirty stories by some of Australia’s talented aspiring writers. Inside are stories about tram surfing, magical pockets and the trials of being a writer. There are stories of sadness and of inspiration: of love and of loss. Take a dive into tales of remarkable imaginings and revel in the talents of these short-story wizards.

Category: 12 to 14 Years

Winner: The Red Coat – Jiamei Hardy

Runner Up: Waa – Natasha Lee

Honourable Mentions:

The Hill – Tom Wedding
Ethereal – Sabina Donato
And So I Don’t Forget – Tristan Simpson
Checkmate – Lucille Grasso
The Doppelganger Evacuee – Elizabeth Murdoch
The Final Autumn – Jasmine Dooley

Category: 15 to 17 Years

Winner: Of Flying Or Falling – Allanah Showell

Runner Up: A Red Dust Land – Saraid Taylor

Honourable Mentions:

The Basket Weaver – Lizzie Harris
Freak Show – Christopher McNaughton
The Witness – Lisa Mills
Theology Is Anthropology – George Cox    
Darkness – Matthew Dudley

Category: Open

Winner: Autumn Days – Anne Maher

Runner Up: The Laundry – Michelle Thomas

Honourable Mentions:

It’s Time – Melissa Wray
Amon – Sue Gunningham
Half A Year – Frank Ince
The Amazing, The Magnificent And The Mundane – Jenni Curry
My Uncle – Greg Bogaerts
Rosa – Michael Horvath

Category: NMIT Staff And Students

Winner: Goodbye Old Friend – Tayla Cherie

Runner Up: Claire de Lune – Marian Penman

Honourable Mentions:

Surfing Joe – Terry Chapman
The Road – J. M. Moore
Layers – Catherine Sloman
The Writer’s Trial – Robert Bennett
The Hedge – Mary Stephenson


Time to Write 2014 (pdf) via Issuu

Time To Write 2014. 144 pages. A5 softcover. Published by Yarra Bend Press in 2014. ISBN 9780987319227. $9.95r.r.p.

Maintained by Web Developer and Administrator, M&CC.
Last Modified: 19th November 2014