Yarra Bend Press

Time to Write 2013


This anthology comprises twenty-seven short fictions from Melbourne Polytechnic's second Time to Write short story contest.

The 600 to 1000 word entries came from twelve to seventeen year olds, adults, and Melbourne Polytechnic students. Each was judged by a panel of Bachelor of Writing and Publishing lecturers and the winners and honorary mentions were announced at the Time to Write Festival and Anthology Launch on Monday 27 May 2013. Inside are stories about wounded soldiers, giant dragons and cake baking. There are others about adultery, ghosts and love. They were imagined by both young and more experienced minds, but all have been written with imagination and care. Enjoy.

Category: 12 to 14 years

Winner: There’s No Escape – Mark Lasky-Davison

Honourable Mentions: 

Curiosity Killed The Cat – Elise Bennell
The Jade Jewellery Box – Haini Jiang
The Lost Locket – Ciara Brennan
The Lair Of Anarach The Cloud Breather – Tristan Simpson
We Are Birds, We Are Free – Ella Crosby
Closure – Dinushka Gunasekara

Category: 15 to 17 years

Winner: Warmth – Samantha Walls

Honourable Mentions:

Stay – Sammy Liang
Scars And Bones – Alanah Mahon
Blooded – Vivienne Ngau
Ominous – Jake Jones
When Light Fades – Allanah Showell
Broken – Annie Kheo

Category: Open

Winner: Marble Cake – Syie Mei Thai

Honourable Mentions:

Monsters – Jo Antareau
Do I Look Fat In This? – Sandy Bennett
Snakebite – Kate Molony
Frozen Teeth In A Sunken Face – Jack Waghorn
Cunnamulla – Pavle Radonic
There Is Never Enough Time, For Anyone – Chris Rowley

Category: NMIT Students

Winner: The Wedding Cake – Matthew Latham-Black

Honourable Mentions:

Blameless – Jessica Tait
A Settling Of Ash – Peta Hawker
Misguided – Amanda Kontos
On Almost Any Given Day – Thys Pretorius
Rest Stop – Chloe James

FREE Download: Time To Write 2013 (digital ebook version)

Time To Write. 180 pages. A5 softcover. Published by Yarra Bend Press in 2013. ISBN 9780987319210. $9.95r.r.p.

More Information:

Maintained by Web Developer and Administrator, M&CC.
Last Modified: 19th November 2014