Yarra Bend Press

Time to Write 2012

Time To Write 2012

To celebrate Melbourne Polytechnic’s centenary, the Bachelor of Writing and Publishing launched its inaugural Time To Write short story competition.

In keeping with the centenary, the theme was TIME and we looked for six hundred to one thousand word submissions from writers in a number of categories. Winners and honorary mentions were announced at the Time To Write Festival and Anthology Launch on Friday 13 July 2012:

Category: 12 to 14 years

Winner: Snowy Survival – Jessica Dance

Honourable Mentions: 

Prince Edward And The Time Traveller – Annina Mueller
The Biggest Gift Of All – Liam Neil
Expiry Date – Ayla-Jade Scurrah
The Pocket Watch – Hannah Winspear-Schillings
With Time – Monique Xuereb

Category: 15 to 17 years

Winner: Soon – Georgina Rychner

Honourable Mentions:

Springtime Puppies – Emily Dickey; Never, Never, Never – Liam Kean
It’s Now Or Never – Tony Luo
The Keeper Of Time – Kevin Tang 
The Last Song Of The Lyrebird – William Tran

Category: 18 to 20 years

Winner: Something Like That – Asheligh Mounser

Category: Open

Winner: Counting Red – Rijn Collins

Honourable Mentions:

Time To Say Goodbye – Rory Hambly
Last Thoughts – Leon Heussler
Venom – Kate Molony
Tequila Through The Veins – Francine Sculli 
After Carl – John Stockdill

Category: NMIT Staff and Students

Winner: The Real Man – Warwick Sprawson

Honourable Mentions:

Check Mate: Time To Go – Robert Bennett
Dear Diary – Aaron Hughes 
Windswept – Adam Mackay 
Girl On A Platform – Monika Roberts
Down To The Core – Jan Robinson

For further information including book purchase enquiries contact our course administrator:

FREE Download: Time To Write 2012 (digital ebook version)

Time To Write 2012. 138 pages. A5 softcover. Published by Yarra Bend Press in 2012. ISBN 9780987319203. $9.95r.r.p.

Maintained by Web Developer and Administrator, M&CC.
Last Modified: 28th July 2015