Yarra Bend Press

Guest Speaker List

Guest Speaker Series


Bruce Shearer

Nicole Watson


Anne Gracie
romance writer

Larry Schwartz
journalist and writer

G.L. (Glenys) Osborne
editor MacMillan Education and writer

C Tuohy

Enza Gandolfo
writer and lecturer

Louise Swinn and Steve Amsterdam
Sleepers Publishing

Susan Hawthorn
Spinifex Press

Cody McCormack

Russell Kerr
The Works RMIT

Bernard Caleo
Cardigan Comics

George Dunford
Wheeler Centre

Karl Quinn

Tim Fluence
writer and photographer [involved in Characters]

George Pesutto
Roy Morgan Research

Nathan Hollier
Monash University Publishing

John Hunter and Justin Clemens
Hunter Publishers

Kristian Puccio

Nadine Raydan
Palgrave Macmillan

Bruce Shearer


Maree McCaskill and Jose Borghino
Australian Publishers’ Association

Dale Campisi
Arcade Publishers

Sue Hines
Allen & Unwin

Mary Russell
ANZ Society of Indexers

Stefan Lashcuk

John Marsden

Bruce Shearer
playwright and senior training consultant at LexisNexis

Sue Hines
trade publishing director at Allen & Unwin

Cora Kipling
senior publicist at Text Publishing

Helen Cerne
writer and manuscript assessor

Jeff Sparrow

Lisa Dempster
Emerging Writers’ Festival and Vignette Press

Tim Pegler
award-winning journalist and author

John Kassab
John Kassab Sound

Zoe Dattner

Joel Becker
Australian Booksellers Association

Sarah Billington
writer and editor [3rd year BWaP student]

Malcolm Neil
Kobo Australia/New Zealand

Wayne Cosshall
writer and editor [2nd year BWaP lecturer]

Peter Haasz

Mikolai Napieralski
writer and editor [2nd year BWaP lecturer]


Tom Cho
author of Look Who’s Morphing published by Giramondo

Marie Alafaci
Australian Society of Authors

Dan Kuseta
editor of Milkbar Mag an independent guide to Melbourne

Angela Meyer
blogger and editor of Literary Minded

Jon Tjhia
executive producer of audio journal Paper Radio

Jane Winning
publisher for Plum a lifestyle imprint of Pan MacMillan

Sarah Billington
writer and publisher

Peter Bakowski

Paul Callaghan
games writer

Paul Collins
Ford Street Publishing

Dom Megna and Rogan Briggs
creative directors of Clemenger Harvie

Zoe Dattner
Sleepers Publishing

Rebecca Starford
associate publisher at Affirm Press and editor of Kill Your Darlings

Rod Saunders
script writer and playwright


Lindy Cameron
author and publisher at Clan Destine Press

Jonathan Horn
award-winning sports journalist

Alan Attwood
editor of The Big Issue

Torre DeRoche
author of Love With A Chance Of Drowning [optioned for a Hollywood movie]

Justin Heazlewood [aka The Bedroom Philosopher]
author, comedian, actor and songwriter

Alison Arnold
acquisitions editor at Text Publishing

Ben Groundwater
globetrotting Fairfax travel writer

Tyson Wray
editor of Beat Magazine

Rebecca Lim
Melbourne young adult author of Mercy series

Jeff Apter
music journalist and rock biographer

James Phelan
Melbourne thriller writer

Martin Hughes
co-founder and publisher at Affirm Press

Peter Mattessi
scriptwriter for EastEnders and Home & Away


Pepi Ronalds
journalist and blogger

Lauren Williams
poet and songwriter

Andrew Macrae
speculative fiction writer

Same Cooney
editor of The Lifted Brow

Jessica Alice
radio producer and podcaster

Hazel Edwards

Samantha van Zweden
online editor The Writers Bloc and blogger Little Girl with a Big Pen

Jo Case
editor Beat Magazine

Meg Mundell
author of Black Glass

John Weldon
author of the novel Spin Cycle

Ellie Marney
young adult author of the Every series

Paul Marcolin
Spike Creative

Kent MacCarter
editor Cordite Poetry Review


Saara Lamberg
screenwriter (bronze winner, Beverly Hills Screenplay Contest)

Erik Jensen

Berry Liberman
editor Dumbo Feather magazine

Graeme Simsion
author of The Rosie Project

Jon Tjhia
digital manager The Wheeler Centre

Fran Berry
publishing director Hardie Grant Books

Maintained by Web Developer and Administrator, M&CC.
Last Modified: 27th July 2015