Explore Melbourne Polytechnic

NMIT Milestones – 1960s


Preston Technical School – Preston Technical College

1962 – 63: a new diploma studies building erected on the St Georges Road site.

1964: Preston Technical School renamed Preston Technical College (PTC).

1964: the first 33 diploma students graduate from PTC.

1966: the PTC affiliates their Diploma School (Diploma Studies) with the Victoria Institute of Colleges, the body overseeing college higher education.

1967: The PTC Diploma School becomes the Preston Institute of Technology (PIT), which eventually becomes recognised as a College of Advanced Education (CAE). In 1973 PIT moves to a new campus in Bundoora and in 1981 it affiliates with the Coburg Teachers’ College to become the Phillip Institute of Technology. In 1992 it becomes part of RMIT.

Collingwood Technical School

1962: Collingwood Technical School expands its facilities with the purchase of the ‘Sparko’ building at number 17 Perry Street, a single storey building of 14,000 square feet.

1962: Golden Jubilee celebrated with a series of activities in honour of 50 years of technical education at Collingwood. 

1966:  The Public Works Department’s renovations to the ‘Sparko’ building are finally complete.

1969: Collingwood Technical School’s Camp Westlake is officially opened. The camp, 80km northeast of Melbourne, provides students with “knowledge of country life” and a “contrast to the factory-encrusted, smoke-shrouded” suburb of Collingwood.

Related Information

Maintained by Web Developer and Administrator, M&CC.
Last Modified: 14th June 2013

More pages from: Explore Melbourne Polytechnic