Higher Education Calendar 2017

The Higher Education calendar gives details of term dates as well as important dates for Melbourne Polytechnic students.

Please note: TAFE and HE term dates may differ, so be aware of changes to operating hours of Melbourne Polytechnic services, eg library, bookshop, cafeteria etc.

Higher Education Dates 2017

Semester 1 – 20 February – 26 May
Mid Semester Break – 10 April – 14 April
Semester 2 – 17 July – 20 October
Mid Semester Break – 4 September – 8 September

Victoria School Dates 2017

Term 1 – 30 January – 31 March
Term 2 – 18 April – 30 June
Term 3 – 17 July – 22 September
Term 4 – 9 October – 22 December

Please note that in addition to the dates stipulated in this calender, students also undertake various activities throughout the year at department level.

Week Starting Study Week Events
2-Jan-17   Mon 2 Jan – New Year's Day Public Holiday
    Tues 3 Jan – Melbourne Polytechnic Opens
9-Jan   Sun 15 Jan – International Student Term 1 Fees Due
16-Jan   Wed 18 Jan – VTAC Round 1 Undergraduate Offers released
23-Jan  

Thu 26 Jan – Australia Day

    23 – 30 Jan – VTAC Round 1 Enrolments at campus students will be attending
30-Jan   Thu 2 Feb – International Student Orientation and Welcome (VET and Higher Education)
6-Feb  

Tue 7 Feb – VTAC Round 2 Undergraduate Offers released

13-Feb  

Mon 13 Feb – 3 Mar – VTAC Supplementary Offers

    Mon 13 Feb – VTAC Round 2 Enrolments at campus students will be attending
    Mon 13 Feb – Fri 17 Feb – HE Student Orientation – all campuses
20-Feb Week 1 Mon 20 Feb – Semester 1 Starts
27-Feb Week 2  
6-Mar Week 3  
13-Mar Week 4 Mon 13 Mar – Labour Day Public Holiday
20-Mar Week 5 Mon 20 Mar – International Students Partial Refund Final Day
27-Mar Week 6 Fri 31 Mar – FEE Help/HECS Help Census Date
3-Apr Week 7  
10-Apr  

Mon 10 Apr – Fri 14 Apr – Mid-semester Break

    Fri 14 Apr – Good Friday Public Holiday
    Sat 15 Apr – International Student Term 2 Fees Due
17-Apr Week 8

Mon 17 Apr – Easter Monday Public Holiday

    Tue 18 Apr – Semester 1 resumes
24-Apr Week 9 Tue 25 Apr – ANZAC Day Public Holiday
1-May Week 10  
8-May Week 11  
15-May Week 12  
22-May Week 13 Fri 26 May – Semester 1 Ends
29-May   Mon 29 May – Mid-year Study Vacation Commences
5-Jun   Mon 5 Jun – Mid-year Examination Period Commences
12-Jun  

Mon 12 Jun – Queen's Birthday Public Holiday

    Thu 15 Jun – International Student Term 3 Fees Due
19-Jun   Fri 23 Jun – Mid-year Examination Period Ends
26-Jun  

Mon 26 June – Semester Break Commences

Mon 26 – Fri 30 Jun – Chief Examiners Meetings

3-Jul  

Mon 3 Jul- Semester 1 Results Release

10-Jul  

Mon 10 Jul – Fri 14 Jul – Academic Progress Panels

    Wed 13 Jul – International Student Orientation and Welcome (VET and Higher Education)
    Fri 15 Jul – Semester Break Ends
17-Jul Week 1

Mon 17 July – Semester 2 Begins

24-Jul Week 2  
31-Jul Week 3  
7-Aug Week 4  
14-Aug Week 5 Mon 14 Aug – International Students Partial Refund Final Day
21-Aug Week 6  
28-Aug Week 7 Thu 31 Aug – FEE HELP Census Date
4-Sep  

Mon 4 Sep- Fri 8 Sep – Mid-Semester Break

11-Sep Week 8

Mon 11 Sep – Semester 2 Resumes

    Thu 15 Sep – International Student Term 4 Fees Due
18-Sep Week 9  
25-Sep Week 10 TBC – Grand Final Public Holiday
2-Oct Week 11  
9-Oct Week 12  
16-Oct Week 13 Fri 20 Oct – Semester 2 Ends
23-Oct   Mon 23 – Fri 27 Oct – End of Year Study Vacation
30-Oct  

Mon 30 Oct – End of Year Examination Period Commences

6-Nov  

Tue 7 Nov – Melbourne Cup Day Public Holiday

13-Nov   Fri 17 Nov – End of Year Examination Period Ends
20-Nov   Mon 20 Nov – Fri 24 Nov – Chief Examiners Meetings
27-Nov   Mon 27 Nov – Semester 2 Results Release
4-Dec   Mon 4 Dec – Fri 8 Dec – Academic Progress Panels
11-Dec    
18-Dec  

Fri 22 Dec – Melbourne Polytechnic Closes

25-Dec  

Mon 25 Dec – Boxing Day Public Holiday

Tue 26 Dec – Christmas Day Public Holiday

1-Jan-18  

Mon 1 Jan – New Year's Day Public Holiday

Tue 2 Jan – Melbourne Polytechnic re-opens